ttnoob.blogg.se

Omniplan effort vs duration
Omniplan effort vs duration













omniplan effort vs duration

After completing his college he started working on projects in different business areas (banking, manufacturing, automotive industry, distribution, oil companies, etc.) developing and implementing ERP systems into different companies. Interests: Project Management and MS PROJECT

  • change Effort – Duration is not affected.
  • So, when I have Task with Resource assigned there are two things:

    omniplan effort vs duration

    When I changed Effort from 3 to 5 days, effort is calculated: 40 hours / 3 days = 13,33 hours per day. On the other hand Effort in Task 2 is 66,67 hours? How is that possible? Task had 40 hours Effort and 3 day Duration. And when now resource is assigned to the Task, there is no relation between Duration and Effort.

    omniplan effort vs duration

    3 days? Why? Because (as I explained in one of my previous posts), Tasks are Fixed Duration type! OK! Now I will change duration to 5 days, and I will get:Īs you can see, nothing happens with Task 1, because no resource is assigned. So I will put 40 hours in effort field for both Tasks, and I will get:Īs you can see, Duration is unchanged, e.g. Now, let’s say that for Task 1, and Task 2 40 hours are needed. 8 hours per day) effort is 24 hours (3 days * 8 hours per day). For John, since he is working from 09:00 AM to 05:00 PM (e.g. Task 1 has no resource assigned, Task 2 has John as resource! Now, I will put three days in Duration, and I will get:Īs you can see: No Resources – no effort. Today I will show you connection between Duration and Effort (known as work).Īs you can see, I have two Tasks.















    Omniplan effort vs duration